Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT)

International Security

Nuclear Non-proliferation Treaty - NPT

The Nuclear Non-proliferation Treaty (NPT) entered into force in 1970. NPT prohibits further spread of nuclear weapons, provides for cooperation in the field of peaceful use of nuclear energy and for the obligation of eliminating nuclear weapons. The total number of State Parties is 190, including the five nuclear powers, that are recognized as such according to the Treaty, the United States, Russia, China, the United Kingdom and France. They have undertaken to negotiate on the elimination of all nuclear weapons.    

Iceland is a State Party to NPT. Iceland appeals to non-member states to assume the obligations of the Treaty.


NPT |   UNODA   |   UNOG

 Updated: 08/10   |     Send comments here     |     Abbreviations